Things I love about Fall

Standard

Fall is upon us and it is my absolute favorite season. It always has been but since we have lived in Pennsylvania I have been able to have a “real” fall and it is one of the best things about living here. So what do I love about fall?  (In no particular order)

  1. The Colors on the trees.   Oh, they are so vibrant and creative.
  2. Wearing my comfy black sweat pants.
  3. The breeze blowing through the trees.  Nothing better than a warm cup of coffee and listening to the breeze blow outside.
  4. Watching college football with my handsome fella (it is more fun with the team we are cheering for wins, but still)
  5. Eating things with pumpkin in them!

Here is a favorite pumpkin recipe at our house

Pumpkin Crunch

Beat together:

  • 1 can plain pumpkin
  • 1 large can evaporated milk
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 4 eggs

Pour the above ingredients into a greased 13 x 9 baking pan

Sprinkle over the pumpkin mixture:

  • 1 box of yellow cake mix

Sprinkle over the cake mix:

  • 1 cup of chopped pecans (I put it over 3/4ths as my girls do care for the pecans)

Finish by placing on top

  • 2 sticks of butter, thinly sliced

Bake at 350 for 50-60 minutes.

Enjoy!

4 responses »

    • Funny that you commented on this one! I had planned when I made ours to share it with y’all as we can never eat a whole batch, just the four of us. However, I forgot to put the butter on and realized it at 59 minutes into the 60 minute baking period! I quickly put the butter on and baked it for 15-20 minutes more. So it wasn’t the best sample to send down your way!
      It is very yummy when you put all the ingredients in the first time!
      I usually have served it as a cake as it isn’t quite firm enough for bars.
      Some whipped cream on top is a nice addition too.

Leave a Reply

