National Family Day 2010 is coming up!

Standard

Did you know that Monday, September 27th is my Gram’s birthday?  Oh, wait…it is but it is also National Family Day- A Day to Eat Dinner with your Family. 😉

This is a day that the CASA (Center on Addiction and Substance Abuse) started several years ago to help put an emphasis on the importance of family dinners.  The stats they have compiled over the years show that families who eat dinner together on a regular basis and engage in conversation have less issues with teen substance abuse.  The dinner table is a great place to catch up, find out the latest trends and share family history.

You don’t have to make a gourmet meal (I never do).

You just need to make it a priority.

Now, ironically….I won’t be having a “whole family” dinner on Monday night because Brad will be at work.  But the girls and I will still sit down, all together, for dinner.  I plan to make something called Sweet Sunday Chicken (yes…I realize it will be Monday and not Sunday so does that make it Sweet Monday Chicken????)

Anyway, I hope you too will sit down with your family and reconnect after a busy day.  The link to the Family Day site has some ideas for conversation starters and games to play.  Spend some time on Sunday thinking about what you will make and take care of any prep now so you aren’t frazzled trying to get dinner on the table after working all day.  If you need to, look back through my posts and find one to use- I like flavorful and easy so there are many to pick from 🙂

Let me know if you plan to sit down as a family and maybe one thing you hope to incorporate into your evening together.

Can’t wait to hear from you.

One response »

  1. I am working on dinner rght now and am dying to know what “sweet sunday chicken” is…I will be visiting the website for a family game tonight.

Leave a Reply

