Tilapia that even I can make

Standard

I’m not much of a fish lover…I would rather eat shrimp and crab.  But I know that fish is a healthy thing to eat so I am usually trying to find something to try that meets my criteria of flavorful and easy.  Well this recipe from the October 2010 Cooking with Paula Deen magazine meets my criteria.

This took me about 8 minutes to throw together and then it cooks for 30.  So you can easily have dinner on the table in 45 minutes.

Acme has Tilapia for 4.99 lb (previously frozen) this week.

Mushroom Tilapia in Foil Packets

Preheat your oven to 400

Cut a piece of heavy-duty aluminum foil twice the size of a baking sheet (you will fold it over to make the packet once the fish is prepared).

Arrange on the foiled baking sheet: (remember to hang half of the foil off the sheet so you can fold it over later)

Sprinkle vegetables with

  • 1/4 teaspoon of salt

Place on top of the vegetables:

  • 4 Tilapia Fillets (I placed 5 as Brad wanted to make sure we had enough…we did- one too many!  But you could easily get 6 fillets over the vegetables if you have a larger family to feed)

Sprinkle the fish with:

  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 teaspoon of dried thyme (recipe calls for 1 Tablespoon of chopped fresh thyme)

Seal the fish in the foil.  (I simply pulled it over the top and wrapped the edges around the side of the pan)

Bake 30 minutes or until fish flakes easily when tested with a fork

I served it with a green salad and some French bread.  It was filling and yummy.  Everyone ate it and picked around the parts they didn’t want.

This one will be served again at my house!

Leave a Reply

