Santa Fe Rice Pilaf- Easy Breezy…Dinner in no time

Standard

This was the meal that I had tagged mentally to make when I returned on Tuesday from my trip to Texas to see my favorite niece and help out the new parents.  My youngest, however, had other plans.  The entire time I was gone she kept telling her Daddy that we just had to have pizza when Mommy returned.  I’m not sure if she is just so thoughtful that she knew how tired I might be from traveling all day Or maybe she just didn’t want me to be distracted from her while preparing dinner  (those are nice to think and hope….but I have a feeling, she just wanted pizza!)

So, we had the dish on Wednesday night instead.  I had even written on the top of the rice pilaf box—For Tuesday dinner—so Brad wouldn’t use it while I was gone.  I was pretty sure he wouldn’t find the frozen, shredded chicken in the freezer so that was safe.

Speaking of frozen, shredded chicken- that is what makes this an easy breezy, dinner in no time meal.  You can save extra chicken from other dishes to freeze or just boil some chicken breasts one day when you are working in the kitchen on other things and then shred and bag in 2 cup portions to have ready to use in recipes that call for cooked chicken.

This recipe came from a Moms4Moms recipe sheet.

Santa Fe Rice Pilaf

In a skillet that can be covered, dump:  (according to the Rice Box)

  • 1 tsp of Olive oil
  • 1 can chicken broth  (rather than water as the rice box calls for)

Bring to a boil and dump:

  • One box of Near East Rice Pilaf Mix (Original) ….yes the spice packet too
  • 1 t cumin

Cover and let simmer for 20 minutes as per package directions on the rice.

Once the rice is done stir in the following ingredients:

  • 1 can Ro-tel
  • 2 c cooked chicken  (if it was frozen you will need to have defrosted it and maybe zap it a bit to get it slightly warmed before adding it to the dish)
  • 1 can corn, drained
  • 1 can black beans, drained and rinsed

Serve with shredded cheese, if you so desire 🙂

Enjoy!

One response »

  1. Pingback: A week of old favorites « Becki's Blog

Leave a Reply

