Tonight’s Dinner was Brought to you by the Letter “P”

Standard

Brad is gone for work this weekend and so it is just the three of us.  I know I have said it before, but I just can’t get geared up to prepare much for dinner when Brad isn’t home.  So yesterday while at my favorite produce store I picked up some pizza crust.  You get two crusts for $4.  I decided we would have pizza for Saturday night dinner—it is easy and everyone eats it!

We just used one crust for the three of us.  I let the girls make their fourths and I had the other half.  So no one would cross over into another’s section, I used the food markers to draw the sections on the pizza and even put an E and an H on the outer rim of the crust so I didn’t forget which was which.  H branched out and added green bell pepper to her pizza along with the pepperoni and cheese.  E just went with pepperoni and cheese.  Then I got a bit more creative and had those items AND fresh mushrooms, onions, basil, and Italian seasoning.

As it baked, I thought what about peaches and pears too (remember I had been to my favorite produce store so my counters are ripe with yummy fruits).

So we used paper towels for napkins (H had one on each side of her plate!) and had punch (well kool-aid but that doesn’t start with “p”)…if I had used paper plates then it would have been perfect.

The best part of dinner though was an drop-in visit from a friend.  Love those.  It was fun to catch up and she is the kind of friend that didn’t mind me finishing up my dinner while we chatted.

Remember, the important thing is that you sit down as a family to eat….whoever is home…sitting together at the table to eat together without the TV going.  It doesn’t matter if you are having a five course meal or pizza—just being together and sharing conversation is what research shows makes a difference.

2 responses »

  1. Thanks for the encouragement to “sit” down with the kids when Rod is gone. He was gone tonight and the kids ate at the counter while I worked. I do that too much for lunch as well. I will try to sit more. Also, what is your favorite pizza dough? Where do you love to get produce?

  2. Lynn, my favorite produce place is Gentile’s over in Newtown Square. The produce is good quality and the prices are much better than the grocery store. Only on occasion have I seen the grocery store have a better deal on something for the week than what I can get it for at Gentile’s.
    Now, the pizza dough isn’t my “favorite” it is just cheap, easy, and tasty.
    I really like to pick up a ball of dough at Abruzzi’s in Brookhaven if I’m using it that night.
    But the pizza shells from Gentile’s don’t have to be refrigerated.

Leave a Reply

