Another Throw-down meal

Standard

This is the time of year when you need all the throw-down meals you can get.  I added a new one to our meal list this weekend….burritos and spanish rice

I  know you are SHOCKED that it is a tex-mex dish 😉

So all you need to have on hand would be:

  • Tortillas
  • Refried Beans
  • Shredded cheese
  • Boxed mix of Spanish rice (I used the Near East Spanish Rice and thought it was the best boxed I’ve ever had)

That would be the basics and then whatever you wanted to add to it.  We had

  • onions
  • tomatoes
  • iceberg lettuce
  • sour cream

I cooked two cans of refried beans and simply added fajita seasoning to it to give it a little more flavor.  I sprinkled the seasoning all over the top of the beans and then mixed it in and did it one more time for the second can to get its share.

Warm  your tortillas in the microwave.  Put about 5 or 6 tortillas in between two damp paper towels and heat for 25 seconds just to warm them a bit.  Then I put the warmed tortillas in a tortilla warmer, but you could put them under foil or just hop to making a burrito and not worry with putting them anywhere!

I put everything out and it was a “Build your own Burrito Bar”.  My girls had fun putting exactly what they wanted on their burritos.  And of course….don’t forget the fruit!  We had grapes to round out our meal.

We really only needed one can of beans for the four of us, so we had plenty leftovers which became our Sunday lunch.

I know this meal will be a regular guest on our menu planner in the coming months- easy, cheap, and fun to eat!

Oh- we had some Taco Bell salsa packets in the junk drawer so I pulled them out and yum, yum….I thought I had a burrito supreme in front of me without the wait (if you ever have eaten at the Brookhaven Taco Bell then you know what I mean!)

One response »

  1. I love your throw-down recipes. I do the same thing frequently!

    I discovered a similar throw-down in a magazine. I added black beans, rinsed & drained, and a little bit of corn to my burritos and rice. I sprinkle everything with lime juice too.

    We like the “crunchy” burritos better than the “soft” ones, so when you are finished filling your burrito, tuck in the ends and roll it closed so nothing can fall out. Place it seam side down on a baking sheet. Brush the top with water (yes, water) and bake at 350 for about 10 minutes (watch it so you don’t burn the burritos). We dip them in sour cream.

Leave a Reply

