Another one for the grill

Standard

My handsome fella recently ordered the Food Network Magazine for me, well he said it was for me but I can see through that!  The funny part of it is that Heather LOVES the magazine and is often found sitting on the sofa just flipping through it.

Tonight we chose one of the recipes in the “Weeknight Cooking” section.  It says that you should be able to make it in 40 minutes and I would believe that.  I was talking on the phone while trying to slice and dice things so I can’t say I was in under 40—hard to hold a phone with one hand and slice with the other but I got it done (hidden talent I guess!)  I made it very similar to the recipe with just a few changes. Here is how I made it:

Pepper-Jack Chicken with Succotash

Serves 4

Cut a deep pocket into the thickest part of each of 4 chicken breast.

Stuff each chicken with:

  • slice of pepper jack cheese
  • baby arugula (about 1/2 cup per breast)

Brush the chicken with olive oil

Season the chicken with:

  • kosher salt
  • Cajun spice blend (I just shook it on, no measuring but the recipe says 1 1/2 to 2 T of a cajun spice blend)

Preheat a grill to high and brush the grates with vegetable oil.  Grill the chicken until blackened and cooked through; about 8 to 10 minutes per side.

While the chicken cooks, Heat 1 Tablespoon of olive oil in a skillet over high heat.

Add:

  • 1 cup frozen lima beans, thawed
  • 1 medium yellow summer squash, diced
  • 2 cups corn kernals (I used one can)

Season with salt and cook until the squash is just tender, about 4 minutes.

Add to the veges:

  • 1 cup grape tomatoes, halved

Cook for about 2 more minutes.

Remove from heat and stir in the juice of one lime.  (I did about 1/8 cup of lime juice but Brad thought it might have been too much lime flavor.  So maybe next time I would do 1/16 of a cup…I liked the lime flavor though)

Each of my girls ate the chicken- Em picking out the arugula.  But I set it up for success with them.  I only put in half a slice of pepper jack in their smaller chicken breasts and lightly seasoned them with the cajun seasoning.  So it was a win-win dish for everyone….nice and seasoned for me but just barely a flavor for the girls!

Oh, and another win for me on this one…the breasts were in packs of 3.  Well I needed four so I simply picked the ones for dinner tonight and then while preparing dinner I boiled the other two breasts and now I have shredded chicken, bagged and frozen, to use in another dish at some point in the future.

Leave a Reply

