Cinco de Mayo Chicken Salad

Standard

I mentioned this recipe the other day when I had to boil some chicken.  I saved the extra in anticipation of making this chicken salad.

I like chicken salad but I’m picky about it.  I like flavor and unfortunately many chicken salads lack flavor. This one has that southwest taste that I love–hope you do too!

Cinco de Mayo Chicken Salad

In a small bowl, stir together the:

  • 1/3 cup sour cream
  • 2/3 cup mayonnaise
  • 2 T lime juice (or lemon…I used lime)
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon white pepper
  • 2 dashes of Tabasco (more or less to taste)

Taste the dressing you just made and see if you are good with the seasonings, add more if desired.  I added a dash or two more of cumin and also white pepper.

In a separate bowl combine:

  • 2 to 3 cups cooked, shredded chicken
  • 1/2 cup sliced carrots
  • 1/4 cup diced red bell pepper
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped white onion
  • 2 small, ripe avocados, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro.

Pour the dressing over the chicken and vegetables and mix well.

Chill for at least 1 hour before serving.

Makes about 4 servings.

Found the recipe on http://www.texascooking.com

I served it on a bed of shredded lettuce and some chopped tomatoes on the side.  Brad and I were able to eat almost all of it for lunch with about 1/3 cup leftover.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

