I’m trying

Standard

So, the summer is quickly coming to an end and there is so much I wish I would have done with my family.  Why does it always seem to be like that?  I really do try to give it my best and make it a “summer to remember” but if I ponder too long then I get depressed that I didn’t even come close.  That is when I have to stop and remember a few things.

I am a Mom

He has given me a wonderful family.  I have two beautiful girls that I am to be guiding and shaping according to His Word.  That should really be what shapes my days, not trying to create a “summer to remember”.  So I’m trying to enjoy the time I have with my girls; I see it going so fast.  Both of them will be in school this year.  Emily is a “tween” and Heather has moved into Elementary as a kindergartner.  I pray that God would help me be the mom they need.

I am a Wife

I have really been trying to make sure I don’t forget about my husband.  That may sound silly but we can fall into such ruts and then when the school year gets underway we start plowing through those ruts at 90 miles an hour.  Brad and I have started playing chinese checkers.  It is a fun way to end the evening and have time to chat.  We turn the TV off and just enjoy each other.  I want to be able to make our home his safe haven- a place that he is proud of and a place where he knows we are proud of him!

I am a Servant

God has placed me here to serve.  Yes, I serve my family but He has also been stirring things up in my heart to serve Him in other ways outside of my home.  I can’t wait to see how He will work in and through me in the months ahead.  It is a path I have never walked but I know I don’t walk it alone!

So I hope as the days of summer fade away, that you too will take some time to reflect but also to look to the future and see what roles you are playing right now and what is one thing you can do to improve your performance in each role.

One other hat I wear is that of employee and we are approaching our review time–a time to see how close we have come to the goals we set out 6 months ago and reshape and refocus as needed.  It is a great time at work to see how I can do better….  But I’m not going to go all crazy and put down 5 or 10 bullet points for each role.  I think I will just do one or two—that way I’m not feeling overwhelmed in a month or two when I read back over this entry!

2 responses »

  1. I couldn’t agree more Becki! This time of year I tend to list the “what we did” against the “what we didn’t do”. Family time:check; as much time as I would have liked on learning: I feel like it doesn’t deserve a check. I don’t know that it was a “summer to remember” but it was a summer that included a lot of time together laughing. So I will evaluate, try to learn from the experience and listen to the Voice that matters most of all. Thanks so much for writing this post, I really needed to read it.

  2. I love the chinese checkers idea! We haven’t had a T.V in our living room for about half of the summer and it has been so peaceful. We have been reading and internet but the peace and quiet is still so refreshing and much more conducive to conversation. Now we just need to add a game! 😀

    I have a different regret at the end of the summer….I have worked so little that I am afraid I will lose my job!

Leave a Reply

