Dinner in a Jiff?

Standard

So tonight, it was fast approaching 5:00 and I had no idea what we were going to have for dinner.  We had gone out for lunch to Ruby’s Diner up in Concordville as a consolation prize to the Moms4Moms Swim playdate being canceled, so no one was quite hungry (thank goodness that bought me a little bit more time)

I had pulled out my trusty Healthy Cooking- Taste of Home magazine in the late afternoon so I flipped through to see if I could find anything fast and easy.

Ding—Ding—Ding!  Another winner from that $4.00 investment I made earlier this summer.  I had to boil some chicken breasts to make it happen but everything else I had on hand.  And now I have more shredded chicken awaiting a Cinco De Mayo Chicken Salad recipe I have been wanting to make (have to go get avocados for that one).  Everyone in my family ate happily on this dish–hope it goes well in your home too.

It would be a great one for a busy night of the week.  You would just want to have the chicken cooked, shredded and waiting in the refrigerator to make it really hassle free!

Weeknight Chicken and Pasta

Cook 2 cups of bow tie pasta according to the package directions.

In a large nonstick skillet, saute:

  • 1 small onion chopped
  • 1 small sweet red pepper, chopped
  • 1/2 green bell pepper, chopped

Once it is tender, add:

  • 2 garlic cloves, minced

Cook for 1 minute longer

Stir in:

  • 2 cups shredded, cooked chicken breasts
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1/2 tsp dried tarragon
  • 1/2 tsp dried thyme

Heat through.

Drain the pasta and add to the skillet mixture.

Sprinkle with:

  • Parmesan cheese
  • minced chives

Makes 4 servings.

Leave a Reply

