Sloppy Joes

Standard

I have a wonderful husband!  Ok, so you didn’t log in to read about me brag on my handsome fella, but I just have to.  Last week we had Camp Treasure Island (our church’s version of Vacation Bible School).  I was in charge of the opening and closing so I had to leave the house at 5:15 each evening for the 6:00 start time for CTI.  Brad took care of dinner each night—and no, we didn’t order in each night!  He cooked dinner AND cleaned the kitchen.  I am blessed.  Then over the weekend we had leftovers and on Sunday a party with our small group from church so no cooking over the weekend either.

Well, about 3:00 today it hit me—no CTI, no leftovers, I am going to have to cook!  Ugh, I realized how nice it had been to float into the kitchen around 4:50, help a bit, eat and then be gone.  Wow.

So I had two recipes in mind the Quick and Cheesy Sausage Rotini that I have already shared before and then this Sloppy Joe recipe I’m about to share.  But wait…it gets better!  Brad came into the office about 3:50 and said, what can I make for dinner tonight.  Yep, you read that right.  He volunteered to cook again!  Please don’t hate me 🙂

He made the sloppy joes as written below.  It was quick and easy.  He served it with macaroni and cheese (Heather had requested this side dish yesterday so I had purchased everything today on our trip out). 

Sloppy Joes

(8-10 servings)

Cook in a large skillet over medium heat:

  • 2 lbs of lean ground beef

Drain the meat and return it to the skillet.

Stir in:

  • 1 14 1/2 oz can of diced tomatoes (he used the zesty chili style I had in the pantry)
  • 1 1/2 c of ketchup
  • 1/2 cup bottled barbecue sauce
  • 1 tablespoon  Worcestershire sauce

Reduce heat to low, and simmer 15 minutes or until thickened.

Serve on toasted hamburger buns.

(The recipe also says you can use 2 tablespoons chopped pickled jalapenos and 1 T liquid from the pickled jalapenos, but as this was our girls first taste of Sloppy Joes we opted to stay with the sweet taste rather than add a spicy kick too.  I’m sure the spice is yummy though if you want to try it.)

Leave a Reply

