Leftovers

Standard

Tonight was leftovers at the Smith house.  Well, let me tell the whole truth: Brad went to the Phillies game (so he didn’t eat with us), the girls had chicken nuggets and I had leftovers.  My day was kind of like that all the way through.  The same “leftover” issues at work creeping up; the same “leftover” whines and  moans from my girls; the same “leftover” requests that I make everyday (don’t chew with your mouth full, put your clothes away, yada, yada, yada).   I don’t care for leftovers on my plate nor in my life.  I’m glad that with my Heavenly Father each day is new.

The Bible tells us in Lamentations 3:22-24, “Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. I say to myself, ‘The Lord is my portion; therefore I will wait for him’.”

That reminds me of the song “Great is Thy Faithfulness”: 

Great is Thy faithfulness!
Great is Thy faithfulness!
Morning by morning new mercies I see.
All I have needed Thy hand hath provided;
Great is Thy faithfulness, Lord, unto me!

He gives us just enough–All we have needed, He has provided.  Each day is a new day.  Yes, I have some of the same “leftover” issues that I have to deal with but His faithfulness is new each day.  He will help me get rid of the leftover issues if I lean on Him and follow His guide.

Oh, I did end the night by making a new recipe- Blueberry Citrus Loaf…it should be coming out of the oven soon.  So we will have a new recipe in the morning to go along with our new mercies!

2 responses »

  1. I don’t know what I would do if His mercies were not new every morning!! I feel the older I get the more I need His mercy and grace. Thanks Becki. Here is hoping for no “leftovers” at my house.

  2. Probably shouldn’t mention the website since mine is about cleared out, but oh well. Got back at around 8:30 last night..trouble walking after all that riding, but we had a great time. Now, it’s back to the “leftover” house issues, so it will be a busy day. “Great Is Thy Faithfulness” is my favorite hymn…was posted in my book, if you remember. I want that at my funeral…so don’t forget!! You can do that along with “Ding Dong The Witch is Dead!” Have a great day…so much fun on the phone with you on my trip. What a nice surprise! Will try the recipes if I feel creative and energetic enough!

Leave a Reply

