Blueberry-Citrus Loaf

Standard

We started our morning with a new recipe to go along with those new mercies I wrote about yesterday.  I made the bread last night and it made the house smell so great.  I nibbled a bit before going to bed on the warm bread—have to make sure it is fit to serve my family, right!?  Is there anything better than warm, fresh from the oven bread?

This was my first time to bake with whole wheat flour.  Emily couldn’t get beyond the color of the bread.  I told her if I put a blindfold on her then she would be just fine.  Needless to say, she had cheerios for breakfast.  The rest of us enjoyed the bread.

It says to make it in two 5-3/4 x 3 x 2 inch loaf pans, but I don’t have any so I just made one regular loaf pan (9×5).  It would be nice to have the smaller pans as we only eat half in one morning.  I would freeze the other loaf and pull it out when we are out of cereal or poptarts, the normal breakfast of champions at the Smith house.

Combine the following into a large bowl:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda

In a smaller bowl, whisk:

  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 cup orange juice (I used the fresh juice from the orange for the recipe and added on with orange juice from the refrigerator carton to equal the 3/4ths)
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 Tbsp. grated orange peel

Stir into the dry ingredients just until moistened.  Fold in 1 cup of fresh or frozen blueberries (if you use frozen don’t thaw them- just throw them right in at this point- it will help keep the bread from turning purple)

I loved the citrus flavor in the bread.  The bread was a tad dry at times–if I didn’t have blueberries in the bite.  But I will definitely make the bread again sometime.  Especially if I know the Queen of Banana Bread is also bringing dessert.  Hate to show up with my banana bread at the same time- which we have done on several occasions.  I need to remember to buy up the blueberries when they are cheap and freeze them.  My “Queen of Banana Bread” friend told me a trick to freezing them- wash them and let them dry; lay them out on a rimmed cookie sheet and freeze THEN put them in the freezer container of choice.  This will keep them from sticking to each other and you can grab as many as you need–that Queen is so smart!

4 responses »

    • I recalled my cousin telling me she substituted whole wheat in recipes with regular and it didn’t matter. But I thought I would try to be healthy and see how it went. I have a honey, lemon glaze muffin recipe from this same magazine that I’m going to try to use a bit more of the whole wheat. Em might be more of a fan of that as it will have the glaze on top.

  1. Pingback: Shrimp and Rice Casserole « Becki's Blog

Leave a Reply

