First New Recipe for the Week

Standard

I love to try new recipes.  I just get tired of eating the same old things so I’m always looking for recipes that are easy and will make all four of us happy.

Tonight we tried “Honey Lime ChickenI found it in Healthy Cooking from tasteofhome.com/healthycooking…but I didn’t follow the recipe exactly.  Here is how I made it.

  • 1 cup of cooking white wine
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 2 Tbsp. lime juice
  • 1 tsp fresh ginger- could use 1/4 tsp ground ginger

Mix that together and then add 1 to 2 pounds of boneless, skinless chicken thighs (I got mine at Target—on sale even!  But you could use breasts if you prefer white meat).  Let that marinade in a large ziploc bag for at least 2 hours.

Just before grilling, drain and discard the marinade.  Combine:

  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper

Sprinkle over the chicken.

Grill uncovered, over medium heat for 8-10 minutes or until juices run clear (well, Brad is the one who grills so he is the expert on the exact timing of it but grill it until it is done!)

We served it with a green salad and fresh fruit (peaches, strawberries and bananas).

Emily said to give it 4 Smiley Faces.  Translation: everyone liked it, let’s have it again sometime.

I hope you enjoy it too!

One response »

  1. So excited that you have a blog!! I like the sound of this recipe so I think I will be giving it a try~ especially since Emily gives it 4 smiley faces. If an 8 yr old likes it it must be good.

    Linda

Leave a Reply

