Quick Breakfast- Egg Cupcakes

Standard

Recently my girls and I were at the library.  One of my favorite things to browse are the cookbooks.  On this trip I found “Everyday Paleo” by Sarah Fragoso.  The Paleo diet is one that is like our ancestors ate (Paleo meaning  ancient and prehistoric).  She says, it is food that is not processed or modified.  It seems to cut out things like rice and flour.  I’m not sold on 100% Paleo-living but I always love to find a new, healthy recipe so I’m trying a few things out of the cookbook.

One recipe I made this last week was the Egg Cupcakes.  I made them one evening and then we have eaten on them for breakfast for the next several days.  I love to have a quick, healthy breakfast choice in the house.  Here is how I made them:

Egg Cupcakes

Preheat your oven to 350º and grease two muffin pans (Ms. Paelo says to use coconut oil…I used PAM on one and did indeed try coconut oil in the other)

Whisk in a large bowl

  • 10-12 eggs

Add to the eggs

  • Black pepper to taste

In a food processor place and then process until finely chopped but not smooth:

  • 1 green onion (cut into thirds)
  • 1 to 2 zucchini squash (cut into large chunks)
  • 5 to 8 slices of cooked bacon  (I actually cooked the bacon when I was making dinner that night and using Ms. Paleo’s brussel sprouts and bacon recipe—will post that one later)
  • 1 cup of roasted red peppers

Add this to the egg mixture.

Add to the processor and finely chop:

  • 4 cups fresh spinach

Add chopped spinach to the egg mixture and mix well.

I then sprinkled a bit of salt into the egg mixture too.  Not much but just a bit.

Using a 1/4 measuring cup, fill the muffin pans.

Bake the egg cupcakes for 20-25 minutes or until the eggs are set in the middle.

Once mine cooled off, I placed them in a rubbermaid container in the refrigerator for my family to grab for breakfast (25 seconds to reheat in our microwave).  Everyone has enjoyed them and I have enjoyed that there are so many vegetables and omega 3s in them (I used the Trader Joe Omega-3 eggs for this recipe).  This is not something that we will have everyday in our breakfast selections, but once a month would be a great addition to our morning diet.

Enjoy!

2 responses »

  1. I’ll print this one out..sounds great. While I don’t get around to trying as many of your good recipes lately as I have in the past, I still collect them for that day when I have more time. Sure I won’t find any Omega 3 eggs in Liberty..or could afford them for that matter, but that sounds like a very healthy idea.

Leave a Reply

